Mexico Wins Caribbean World Series Title

The Mexican champions, the Yaquis of Obregon won the 2011 Caribbean World Series Monday night with a 3-2 win against Venezuela's Caribes of Anzoátegui.

The Mexican club finished with a 4-2 record to mark the first Caribbean Series title in franchise history and the first championship for the country since taking the crown in 2005 in Mazatlan, Mexico.

This is also marks the sixth Caribbean World Series championship for Mexico.

The Most Valuable Player award was given to the Yaquis' Jorge Vázquez who batted .310 in the series with 6 RBI's while hitting two home runs.

One of his home runs was a game winner against the Venezuelan champion, the Caribes of Anzoátegui in a 3-2 win.

More On This...

The Puerto Rican chmps, the Criollos of Caguas had to win a decisive game against the  Toros of the East from the Dominican Republic, in order to force a playoff game against Mexico's Yaquis.

The Dominican team crushed Puerto Rico's dreams with a win and therefore giving Mexico the title.

The 2012 Caribbean World Series will be held in the Dominican Republic but a city has yet to be chosen.

Translated by Fox News Latino from EFE.