Jaime Garcia tries to win his third consecutive start when the St. Louis Cardinals attempt to complete their first four-game sweep of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Garcia has given up a run in each of his last two outings, victories against Cincinnati and Washington. The lefty pitched seven shutout innings April 14 at Busch Stadium against the Brewers and Marco Estrada, today's mound opponent. Garcia didn't get a decision in that game, won 4-3 in 10 innings by the Brewers.

Garcia is 4-3 with a 2.95 ERA in 11 games (10 starts) all-time against Milwaukee.

Estrada, who is coming off a no-decision against the Pirates Tuesday, is 0-3 with a 4.62 ERA in eight games (3 starts) when facing the Cardinals. The righty allowed seven hits and three runs in six frames in the April 14 contest.

Yesterday, Jon Jay hit the go-ahead single in the top of the ninth inning and had a three-run homer earlier in St. Louis' 7-6 victory.

Jay drove in Shane Robinson with the eventual game-winning run, with Robinson leading off the ninth with a single and advancing to second on an error from Carlos Gomez, then adding to the cause by swiping third base to help Jay easily drive him in.

"When we go out there and we battle, we've got a pretty good offense," Jay said. "We've been winning games. We all believe in ourselves and we just have to have that mind-set every day."

Allen Craig had two hits -- including a solo homer -- and scored twice, while Daniel Descalso had a two-run shot for the Cardinals, who have won five straight.

"We saw a little bit of their relentless approach that helps guys to know that if they stay with it, they can come back," St. Louis manager Mike Matheny said.

Seth Maness (1-0) picked up the win after forcing an inning-ending double play to end the eighth.

"I had two pitchers who were down today so I had to make every pitcher count," added Matheny. "Maness kept the ball down and got a big double play in the eighth."

The Cardinals won two of three games against Milwaukee in an April series in St. Louis and took nine of 15 games in 2012. Milwaukee last won a series, 8-7, in 2010.