Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators, Joffrey Lupul of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Max Pacioretty of the Montreal Canadiens are finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The annual award honors the player who best exemplifies "perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey."

Alfredsson returned from offseason back surgery for his 16th season, helping the surprising Senators make the playoffs. Lupul's career was threatened in 2010 by two back operations and a blood infection. This is the most productive of his eight seasons. Pacioretty returned this season from a gruesome injury when checked into a stanchion.

The trophy commemorates Bill Masterton, a former Minnesota North Star who died in 1968.