Denny Hamlin claimed his second Sprint Cup Series win of the season by taking Sunday's STP 400 at Kansas Speedway.

Martin Truex Jr. dominated the race by leading 173 of 267 laps, but Hamlin grabbed the top position from Truex with 31 laps remaining.

Truex made a valiant effort in the closing laps to reclaim the lead but fell 0.7 seconds short at the finish. He was hoping to end his 174-race winless streak. His first and only Sprint Cup victory so far came in 2007 at Dover.

Hamlin's first win this season came in March at Phoenix. He joins three- time and defending series champion Tony Stewart as the only repeat winners at this point of the season.

Jimmie Johnson finished third, followed by Matt Kenseth and current points leader Greg Biffle.

Truex moved up to second in the rankings and trails Biffle by 13 points. Kenseth is now 17 markers behind.