Trucks leader Byron signs with Hendrick Motorsports

NASCAR truck series points leader William Bryon has signed a multi-year driver agreement with Hendrick Motorsports and will drive for Dale Earnhardt Jr's JR Motorsports team in the Xfinity series next season.

The organization announced Byron's signing Thursday, a day after he finished fourth in the truck race at Bristol Motor Speedway. Byron set the rookie record with five victories in the Camping World Truck Series this season and leads the points race with three events remaining before the trucks first-ever championship chase.

JR Motorsports is owned Earnhardt Jr., Kelley Earnhardt and Rick Hendrick. The 18-year-old Byron won two races running for JR Motorsports in 2014 and 2015.

Byron's five truck wins surpassed the previous rookie mark of four set by Kurt Busch in 2000.