NNS: Sadler Wins Iowa Pole

Nationwide Series point leader Elliott Sadler and newcomer Darrell Wallace Jr. will share the front row for the start of Saturday night’s U.S. Cellular 250 at Iowa Speedway.

Sadler won the pole Saturday afternoon with a track-record speed of 135.141 miles per hour. Wallace, a black driver making his second series start, was a tick behind at 135.014.

Completing the top five in the time-trial round were Austin Dillon, Jason Leffler and Justin Allgaier. In the second five were Brendan Gaughan, Sam Hornish Jr., Michael McDowell, Brian Scott and Brett Moffitt.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Hornish, Michael Annett and Dillon can win a $100,000 bonus with a victory Saturday night.

Stenhouse has won the past three Nationwide races at Iowa.

Danica Patrick qualified 18th.

Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for SPEED.com and has been covering motorsports for 30 years. He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.