Lionel Messi Wins Player of the Year Award, Again

The 23-year-old Argentine forward, Lionel Messi has won his second straight FIFA player of the year award, becoming the first repeat winner since Ronaldinho in 2004 and 2005.

In 2010, Messi helped Barcelona retain its Spanish league title and lead Argentina's national side into the quarterfinals of the FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The Argentine forward beat out Barcelona teammates Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta for the renamed FIFA Golden Ball Award, which merged the FIFA player of the year with France Football's Golden Ball.

The Associated Press contributed to this article.

Follow us on
Like us at

More On This...