Highlights from the 72nd running of the Indianapolis 500

RACE: 72nd Indianapolis 500

DATE: May 29, 1988

WINNER: Rick Mears

AVERAGE SPEED: 144.809 mph

WHAT HAPPENED: It was Team Penske domination as the organization swept the top three starting positions and dominated the month of May. Mears won the pole and was flanked by teammates Danny Sullivan and Al Unser Sr. The Penske drivers led 192 of 200 laps and Mears won his third Indy 500. It was the 50th series victory for Roger Penske.

NOTABLE: Mears set a track record as the first driver to break the 220 mph barrier in time trials. The victory was the first of six consecutive Indy 500 wins by the Chevy Indy V-8 engine, and seven overall by Ilmor-constructed power plants. Race fan Larry Bisceglia of Chicago had grown famous for being "first in line" at the Indy 500 from 1950 through 1987. But he fell ill and missed the 1988 race, then passed away later that year.