Grillo wins PGA Tour rookie of the year

Emiliano Grillo of Argentina has been voted PGA Tour rookie of the year.

It was the third time in the last four years that the top PGA Tour rookie came from the high school class of 2011. Jordan Spieth won in 2013 and Daniel Berger won last year.

Grillo received his award Wednesday at the Safeway Open, where he is the defending champion. Smylie Kaufman and Si Woo Kim also won last season as rookies, though Grillo finished the highest in the FedEx Cup at No. 11.

The Argentine says he will always remember his two trophies from his rookie season — from the tournament he won and the rookie award. He says PGA Tour rookie of the year was harder because he had to play well all year.