Norway's Nobel Peace Prize committee replaces chairman following change of power in parliament

The Nobel Peace Prize awarding Norwegian Nobel Committee has elected a new chairman to replace Thorbjoern Jagland, whose six-year tenure has been lined with controversies.

The former labor politician was replaced Tuesday by the panel's deputy chairman, Kaci Kullmann Five, a former conservative party leader. The replacement follows changes in Norway's government after the 2013 elections. The composition of the committee reflects the power structure in Norway's Parliament which appoints the members.

Jagland was a contentious figure, attracting criticism for his dual role as committee leader and head of the European Council when the prize was awarded to the European Union in 2012. His tenure also was clouded by the decision to give the prize to Barack Obama in 2009 after he had just been elected president.