Final Pakistan election vote count confirms big win for former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif

The final vote count from Pakistan's national elections has confirmed a big win for former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif's party.

The figures released by the country's election commission on Tuesday show that Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League-N party will likely get a majority in the national assembly, setting him up to be prime minister for the third time.

The commission says Sharif's party won 123 of the 272 directly elected national assembly seats.

Independent candidates who normally join the party that forms the government won 25 seats. The combination would give Sharif's party more than the 137 directly elected seats they need to have a majority.

The commission says outgoing ruling Pakistan People's Party won 31 seats. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party led by former cricket star Imran Khan won 26 seats.