The 16th annual Webby Awards took place Monday night in New York City at the Hammerstein Ballroom, where winners and celebrities walked the red carpet in support of innovation.

Described as "the Oscars of the online world," the Webbys are intended to honor online excellence, including categories for websites, interactive advertising, online film, mobile apps and more.

The night’s acceptance speeches are uniquely limited to five words or less. Going on that theme, Executive Director of the Webby’s, David-Michael Davies described the attendees as, “Nerds, dorks, artists, web fun.”

A much anticipated part of the night was a video honoring the memory of late Apple founder Steve Jobs with special tributes from Presidents Barack Obama and Bill Clinton, vice president Al Gore, and even U2 frontman Bono.

"It’s really heartfelt," Davies said. "We have a lot of special people who have come both in person and in video to do so, and I hope that we will be able to express what the web has been feeling since we lost him."

More On This...

New York was in the house that tech built with Knick’s point guard Jeremy Lin and uber fan Spike Lee together presenting the award for best video to Sports commentator Skip Bayless and DJ Steve for the ESPN remix video “Tim Teebow: All I do is Win.”

Lin gave the five word speech a try saying, “Internet fans, I love you thanks.”

Host for the evening, comedian Patton Oswalt joked that Lin and Lee were the “New York re-make of Rush Hour,” the movie.

And New York City’s Mayor, Michael Bloomberg was there to accept the award for Lifetime Achievement for "lifelong continued devotion to technology and innovation."

"Make it here, then everywhere," he said triumphantly.

The night’s lead performance was Passion Pit with their new single "Take a Walk," performing it for the first time for a live broadcast. Lead, Michael Angelakos attributed much of their success to the online medium. “We are one of the bands that kind of came up during the time of Myspace,” Angelakos told FoxNews.com, adding that social media has been “the catalyst for our career, the most important thing.”

Bjork quickly accepted her award for Artist of the Year—she released her album Biophilia,” as the world’s first “app album.”

Juliette Lewis and Graydon Sheppard of the popular viral video "Sh*t Girls Say" chose their words carefully after accepting the honor of best actors: “We just want to thank…”

Their viral video has spawned hundreds of parody videos and twitter feeds like “Sh*t guys don’t say outloud,” “Sh*t triathletes say,” and Sh*t college freshman say.”

Other notable app and website winners included startup mavens Instagrm, Pinterest, Songify, and Fab.com.

Collegehumor.com won for their video SIRI Argument, which parodies an apple commercial showing SIRI, your voice activated personal assistant delivering messages between a quarreling husband and wife.

The group noted the importance of social media when it came to promoting their creation telling FoxNews.com that "Facebook is the primary way our stuff is shared, so hundreds of thousands of views are coming from there."

Promoting participation with viewers at home, who could watch the show at www.webbyawards.com, a live vote took place for “Meme of the Year” naming The Webby Nyan Cat the winner.  An Internet meme is a concept that spreads viral and is applied to other non-related things, becoming a giant inside joke.

FoxNews.com asked attendees to travel back in time and remember their first online experience.

“It was probably on a dial up modem,” Pete Cashmore, CEO of Mashable said, recalling how his parents used to have to tell him to get offline so they could make a phone call.