WATCH: League explains decision not to suspend Bruins' Zac Rinaldo

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Zac Rinaldo was not suspended for a hit on Philadelphia's Sean Couturier. Bob DeChiara Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

Boston enforcer Zac Rinaldo avoided further punishment for a hit on Philadelphia's Sean Couturier after a review from the NHL's Department of Player Safety deemed the hit worthy of a penalty but not worthy of a suspension, the league announced Thursday.

Rinaldo was assessed a five-minute major and a game misconduct for the hit in Wednesday night's game. Couturier was shaken up on the play and did not return to the game.

The league explained its ruling in the following video and said Rinaldo's hit Wednesday was more of a body check than a clear, targeted head-shot.

The league also said it did not consider Rinaldo's previous history in its decision not to suspend Rinaldo, as it said a player's past history only affects a decision after the league deems a play worthy of supplemental discipline. Rinaldo has been suspended three times in five seasons for illegal hits.

(h/t NHL)

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our NHL newsletters.