UEFA to publish top officials pay deals for 1st time

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

UEFA has followed FIFA by pledging to publish details of what the president and other top officials are paid for the first time.

The UEFA executive committee decided Saturday to create a three-member compensation panel to "oversee matters linked to remuneration" of senior management, including the president and general secretary.

The move toward financial openness follows world football body FIFA, which revealed in March that former president Sepp Blatter was paid a basic salary of $3 million in 2015. In previous years, Blatter more than doubled his salary with bonuses from World Cup profits.

UEFA said in a statement that "detailed information will be disclosed" in the annual accounts published in March.

Both top UEFA posts are formally vacant after outgoing president Michel Platini was banned by FIFA and former general secretary Gianni Infantino was elected FIFA president in February. Infantino is currently working without a contract after rejecting a $2 million salary offer from FIFA's compensation panel.

UEFA never revealed Platini's salary, or stipends and expenses that the 17 members of its executive panel receive. FIFA executive committee members are paid a $300,000 annual stipend, plus expenses.

UEFA includes salary costs in a broader "governing expenses" amount of 72.6 million euros ($80.2 million) in the 2014-15 financial accounts.

The 55 national member federations of UEFA will elect a new president to replace Platini on Sept. 14 in Athens.

The front-runner ahead of a July 20 deadline to enter the contest appears to be Aleksander Ceferin, a lawyer who has been president of the Slovenia football federation since 2011.

UEFA's interim general secretary is Theodore Theodoridis, the long-time deputy to Infantino, who joined the Switzerland-based governing body from the Greece football federation.

UEFA said its pay oversight panel will include its finance committee chairman, currently Marios Lefkaritis of Cyprus, a member of its governance and compliance committee, and an independent financial expert.