MINNEAPOLIS (AP) Minnesota Timberwolves center Karl-Anthony Towns is the unanimous winner of the NBA Rookie of the Year award.

The league made the announcement Monday, giving the Wolves back-to-back honorees after forward Andrew Wiggins took the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy last season.

The 7-foot Towns received all 130 first-place votes from a panel of sports writers and broadcasters in the United States and Canada, joining Damian Lillard (2013), Blake Griffin (2011), David Robinson (1990) and Ralph Sampson (1984) as recent unanimous winners.

New York's Kristaps Porzingis finished second, and Denver's Nikola Jokic was third.

The first pick in the 2015 draft, Towns ranked eighth in the NBA in rebounds and field-goal percentage and was one of only six players in the league to start all 82 games.