Terriers advance to Beanpot final with 2-OT triumph

Boston, MA (SportsNetwork.com) - Danny O'Regan's marker 2:18 into the second overtime sent Boston University over Harvard by a 4-3 count in the early semifinal of the 63rd annual Beanpot from TD Garden, spoiling a historic performance by Steve Michalek.

Ahti Oksanen and Cason Hohmann added a goal and one assist each for the Terriers, who rallied from a 3-1 second-period deficit to reach the tournament final for the first time since 2012.

BU hasn't won the Beanpot since 2009, the year of the program's last national championship.

Matt O'Connor stopped 31 pucks, including all 14 after giving up two goals on eight shots in the second period.

Kyle Criscuolo, Alex Kerfoot and Sean Malone tallied for the Crimson, who will wait another year to reach the final which they haven't won since 1993.

Michalek made a career-high and tournament-record 63 stops in defeat, and was forced to withstand a 60-shot barrage by the Terriers following the first period having suffered a suspected lower-body injury at some point in the first extra session.

Jim Barton of BC held the record since his 52-save effort in 1970.