Taylor, Angelelli win Grand-Am race at Detroit

Max Angelelli and Jordan Taylor teamed to win the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series on Saturday at Belle Isle to take the Daytona Prototype season lead.

Taylor retook the lead on lap 33 of the 61-lap race and the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP stayed ahead through its pit stop and driver change. Angelelli finished 0.486 seconds ahead of 2012 Detroit winner Joao Barbosa on the 2.36-mile temporary circuit.

Angelelli and Taylor have a two-point lead over Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney after five of 12 races. Fogarty and Gurney finished sixth.

Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi teamed in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP. Ryan Dalziel and Alex Popow were third in the No. 2 Starworks Motorsport Ford/Riley.

Robin Liddell and John Edwards raced to their third consecutive GT class victory in the No. 57 Stevenson Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro GT.R. Joel Miller and Tristan Nunez won the GX class in the diesel-powered No. 00 Visit Florida Racing Mazda6 GX.