KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) Former Florida and South Carolina coach Steve Spurrier has been named the 2016 winner of the Neyland Trophy, an award the Knoxville Quarterback Club gives annually to a major contributor to college athletics.

The Knoxville Quarterback Club also announced Thursday it was giving Brent Musburger its Lindsey Nelson Broadcasting Award.

Spurrier and Musburger will receive their awards April 16 and will be honored at Neyland Stadium that day during pregame ceremonies for the Orange & White Game that closes Tennessee's spring football practice.

Spurrier went to high school in Johnson City, Tennessee, but he won the 1966 Heisman Trophy for Florida and often saved his best verbal barbs for Tennessee during his head coaching career. He retired from coaching last season and remains the winningest coach in Florida and South Carolina history.


AP college website: collegefootball.ap.org