Seau, Warner among Hall of Fame finalists

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Canton, OH ( - Two-time MVP quarterback Kurt Warner and the late Junior Seau are two of 15 Modern-Era finalists for the 2015 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Warner and Seau are two of three first-time eligibles that made the final ballot, with former Rams offensive tackle Orlando Pace the other. The Hall of Fame Selection Committee will convene in Phoenix on Jan. 31 to elect the 2015 class.

A pair of Super Bowl champion coaches, Jimmy Johnson and Tony Dungy, also made the cut down to 15. So did wide receivers Marvin Harrison and Tim Brown, running backs Jerome Bettis and Terrell Davis and the NFL's all-time leading scorer, kicker Morten Andersen.

Seau, an eight-time first team All-Pro linebacker for the San Diego Chargers who tragically committed suicide in May of 2012, is joined on the defensive side by outside linebackers Charles Haley and Kevin Greene and safety John Lynch.

Twelve-time Pro Bowl guard Will Shields and former St. Louis Cardinals and San Diego Chargers head coach Don Coryell round out the Modern-Era finalists.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee previously announced ex-Minnesota Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff as its senior finalist, while executives Bill Polian and Ron Wolf were placed under consideration in the newly created Contributor category in October.

Dungy, Harrison, Bettis, Brown, Shields, Haley, Greene, Andersen and Lynch are all repeat finalists from last year.