Sale of Phoenix Coyotes finalized

The Phoenix Coyotes announced that IceArizona AcquisitionCo., LLC purchased the Coyotes from the National Hockey League on Monday.

The sale and ownership of the Arizona franchise was approved by the NHL's Board of Governors. IceArizona is composed of several business leaders from across North America. Renaissance Sports and Entertainment, LLC will serve as the managing partner of IceArizona.

"The National Hockey League believes in Arizona as an NHL market and that these new owners can provide the Coyotes the opportunity to secure a stable, long-term future in Glendale," NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman said. "We thank Mike Nealy, Don Maloney, Dave Tippett, team captain Shane Doan and all the players and staff for consistently going 'above and beyond' on behalf of the franchise during this long and complex process. We thank the Coyotes' devoted fans for their patient, perseverant support. We are extremely pleased that a positive resolution has been achieved for the fans, the city, the Coyotes and the League."

The NHL has been running the Coyotes for the last four years after rescuing it from a protracted battle in Bankruptcy Court. The franchise was in jeopardy of relocating if the city of Glendale did not accept the terms of Renaissance Sports and Entertainment to operate arena. Glendale's city council did approve a multimillion-dollar deal with a 4-3 vote.

"We are thrilled to be taking over a team led by one of the NHL's best general managers in Don Maloney, one of the best coaches in Dave Tippett, and the league's longest serving and most respected Captain in Shane Doan," said Anthony LeBlanc, Alternate Governor and pending CEO of the franchise. "The Coyotes are here to stay and we will continue to work hard on and off the ice and have a strong presence in our community. Our ultimate goal is to bring a Stanley Cup championship to our tremendously resilient, passionate and dedicated fan base here in the Valley. We have a lot of work to do and we can't wait to get started."

The new ownership group is composed of George Gosbee, Anthony LeBlanc, Avik Dey, Gary J. Drummond, W. David Duckett, W.R. Dutton, Daryl Jones, Robert Gwin, Scott Saxberg, Craig Stewart, and Richard Walter.