Ryan Newman was the second-fastest in the final practice before Sunday's race at Texas Motor Speedway.

The only driver faster than Newman in the 50-minute session Saturday afternoon was Jimmie Johnson, who is not one of the eight remaining contenders in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.

Points leader Jeff Gordon was 24th in the final practice, the only of the championship contenders outside the top 14.

Pole sitter Matt Kenseth, a two-time winner at Texas, was 10th, behind other chase contenders Newman, Joey Logano (fourth) and Carl Edwards (eighth), but ahead of Kevin Harvick (11th), Denny Hamlin (12th) and Brad Keselowski (14th).

Logano won at the high-banked, 1 1/2-mile Texas track in April. Johnson was the race winner there last November.