Ryan Hunter-Reay takes pole at Barber and ends Penske Racing's streak

Defending IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay has won the pole at Barber Motorsports Park.

Hunter-Reay grabbed the top starting spot for Sunday's race with a lap of 1:07.0871 around the 17-turn, 2.38-mile permanent road course. He beat two-time defending race winner Will Power.

Hunter-Reay also ended the Penske Racing pole streak at Barber. Penske drivers Power and Helio Castroneves had won all three poles and all three races at Barber.

Power qualified second and was followed by rookie Tristan Vautier, Scott Dixon, Charlie Kimball and Castroneves.

AJ Allmendinger will start 10th in his IndyCar debut Sunday.

Vautier made it into the Fast Six after IndyCar disqualified Takuma Sato minutes before the session began.