Rory McIlroy wins Race to Dubai for 2nd time in 3 years

Rory McIlroy has won the European Tour's Race to Dubai for the second time in three years.

The 25-year-old Northern Irishman is more than 2.7 million euros ($3.4 million) ahead of Henrik Stenson. The Swede, who was European No. 1 a year ago, moved second on the money list by coming third in the Turkish Airlines Open on Sunday.

No player can now catch four-time Major winner McIlroy at the remaining DP World Tour Championship in Dubai, starting Nov. 20.

McIlroy did not compete in Turkey where Marcel Siem, Jamie Donaldson and Sergio Garcia needed to win to stay in the race.

Brooks Koepka of the United States won the tournament by a stroke.