Dan Bylsma of the Pittsburgh Penguins has won the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year.

Bylsma led the Penguins to the playoffs despite the absences of stars Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin, who both missed much of the season. The Penguins (49-25-8) had the second-most victories and points in franchise history.

That impressed members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association enough for Bylsma to edge Barry Trotz of Nashville and Vancouver's Alain Vigneault for the honor handed out at the NHL Awards ceremony at the Palms Casino Resort.

Trotz took the Predators to the playoffs for the sixth time in seven seasons. Vigneault, the Adams winner in 2007, led the Canucks to the team's first Presidents' Trophy as the NHL's top regular-season team and then guided them to the Stanley Cup finals