Ohio State will add an 18th Chicago Tribune Silver Football to its trophy case with star running back Ezekiel Elliott being named the Big Ten's Most Valuable Player for 2015 on Friday.

A junior who led the Big Ten in rushing this season, Elliott previously was named first-team All-Big Ten and the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Running Back of the Year.

The last Ohio State running back to win the Silver Football was Eddie George in 1995, but a Buckeye has claimed the award five times since then, including current OSU receiver Braxton Miller as a quarterback in 2012 and '13.

Elliott passed George to move into second on Ohio State's all-time rushing list as the Buckeyes beat Michigan 42-13 on Nov. 28.

Elliott has 3,812 career rushing yards heading into the Buckeyes' Fiesta Bowl matchup with Notre Dame on Jan. 1.

The other finalists for the Big Ten MVP were Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook and Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard.

Cook was named the league's top quarterback and the all-conference first team while Beathard was on the second team.

Ohio State's Chicago Tribune Silver Football winners

2015 -- RB Ezekiel Elliott

2013 -- QB Braxton Miller

2012 -- QB Braxton Miller

2006 -- QB Troy Smith

1998 -- QB Joe Germaine

1996 -- OT Orlando Pace

1995 -- RB Eddie George

1984 -- RB Keith Byars

1981 -- QB Art Schlichter

1974 -- QB Cornelius Greene

1973 -- RB Archie Griffin

1975 -- RB Archie Griffin

1955 -- HB Howard Cassady

1950 -- HB Vic Janowicz

1945 -- FB Ollie Cline

1944 -- HB Les Horvath

1941 -- FB Jack Graf

1930 -- E Wes Fesler