North Carolina gets top seed for NCAA baseball tourney

North Carolina has been selected as the top overall seed for the 2013 NCAA Division I baseball championship.

The 64-team tournament starts on Friday with 16 regionals featuring four teams apiece in a double-elimination format. Those 16 survivors are then paired off for eight best-of-three super regionals before the last eight teams earn trips to the College World Series, which starts June 15 in Omaha.

Vanderbilt, Oregon State, LSU, Cal State Fullerton, Virginia, Florida State and Oregon join North Carolina as the other top seeds.

Arizona failed to make the 64-team field a year after winning the College World Series.

The SEC has nine schools in the field to lead all conferences while the ACC has eight. The Pac-12 and Sun Belt conferences will send four schools each.

Making it to the tourney for the first time are Bryant, Canisius, Central Arkansas, Savannah State and South Dakota State. Miami-Florida again earned a berth, extending an NCAA record with its 41st straight appearance. Florida State is in the field for a 36th consecutive year.