Newgarden earns IndyCar win in Iowa

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Josef Newgarden cruised to victory in the IndyCar race at Iowa Speedway on Sunday, setting a series record by leading 282 of 300 laps.

It's the first win of the season for Newgarden, who finished second in Iowa in 2014 and 2015 and just missed winning the pole this weekend.

Newgarden, who broke his right clavicle and hand in a crash at Texas last month, established a huge lead in the opening laps and maintained it through three cautions.

Team Penske's Will Power was second, followed by Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud and Mikhail Aleshin.

It's the 10th straight time that Penske failed to win at Iowa — despite sporting the top three cars in the championship race entering the weekend.