Nadel named Frick Award winner

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Lake Buena Vista, FL ( - Longtime radio voice of the Texas Rangers, Eric Nadel, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for major contributions to baseball broadcasting.

Nadel, who becomes the first primary voice of the Texas Rangers to be selected for the Frick Award, will be honored on Saturday, July 26, as part of Hall of Fame Weekend in Cooperstown.

"Eric Nadel's play-by-play has entertained Rangers fans across the Lone Star State and throughout the Southwest during warm Texas nights since 1979," said Jeff Idelson, President of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. "From Nolan Ryan's memorable milestones to American League Championship clinching moments, Eric's crisp, energetic and enthusiastic delivery of Texas Rangers baseball has transcended multiple generations for 35 seasons."

A finalist for this award in 2011, 2012 and 2013, Nadel just completed his 19th year as the lead voice on Rangers broadcasts and his 35th year broadcasting the team -- the longest tenure of any announcer in the history of the franchise and the second-longest continuous current stint with one team in the American League to Kansas City's Denny Matthews (46 years through 2013).

Nadel's signature home run call, "That ball is history!," has become a part of the Rangers' lexicon.

"On behalf of the entire Texas Rangers organization, we congratulate Eric Nadel for winning the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award," commented Rangers co-chairmen Ray Davis and Bob Simpson. "Rangers fans have had the ultimate privilege and pleasure of listening to Eric's description of Rangers baseball for 35 years. Eric is taking his rightful place with the top baseball broadcasters in the history of the game. It is a great accomplishment."

Other finalists included Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete Van Wieren.

Previous winners of the Frick Award include legendary names such as Mel Allen, Red Barber, Russ Hodges, Ernie Harwell, Vin Scully, Jack Buck, Lindsey Nelson, Harry Caray, Dave Niehaus, Harry Kalas, Bob Uecker, Tony Kubek and Jon Miller.

Legendary Blue Jays announcer Tom Cheek was honored last year.