Andy Murray is one win away from becoming the first five-time champion at Queen's Club after he defeated fifth-seeded Marin Cilic of Croatia 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 to reach Sunday's final.

Other four-time winners since the tournament was established in 1890 include John McEnroe, Boris Becker, Lleyton Hewitt and Andy Roddick.

Almost from the start Murray berated himself and disputed several line calls but he was able to gain the upper hand.

Watched by his coach Ivan Lendl, a two-time champion at Queen's Club, Murray forced a forehand error to break for 2-1, fought off four break points in the next game and broke at love to take the opening set.

Murray had to hold off a break point before holding for 2-1 in the second set but Cilic finally earned a break to lead 4-3. Murray's frustration mounted as he failed to convert three break points in the next game and Cilic went on to level the match.

Murray finally managed to take control against the 2012 champion in the decider, sweeping to a 3-0 lead for the loss of just two points.

Murray plays third-seeded Canadian Milos Raonic or unseeded Australian Bernard Tomic in the final.