Montanes, Granollers advance in Austria

Seeded Spaniards Albert Montanes and Marcel Granollers highlighted Monday's opening-round winners at the Kitzbuhel Cup tennis event.

The seventh-seeded 2011 Kitzbuhel runner-up Montanes handled Romanian Adrian Ungur 6-4, 6-2, while the No. 8 seed Granollers grounded Croatian wild card Mate Pavic 7-6 (7-2), 6-2 on the red clay at Kitzbuhel Tennis Stadium.

Also winning on Day 1 were Austrian wild card Dominic Thiem, Spaniard Daniel Gimeno-Traver, and Argentines Leonardo Mayer and Horacio Zeballos.

On Tuesday, top seed and 2012 runner-up Phillip Kohlschreiber of Germany will open his latest Kitzbuhel stay against Mayer and Granollers will meet Zeballos in the second round.

Dutchman Robin Haase is the two-time defending Kitzbuhel champion. He beat Kohlschreiber in last year's final.

The winner of this $540,000 tournament will earn $98,000.