VIRGINIA WATER, England – Graeme McDowell of Northern Ireland and Martin Kaymer of Germany are the co-winners of the European Tour Golfer of the Year award.

The award will be shared for the first time in its 26-year history after the two Ryder Cup stars tied in the voting by a judging panel of writers and commentators.

McDowell won the U.S. Open to claim his first major title and holed the putt to secure Europe's Ryder Cup win over the United States at Celtic Manor. He moved to No. 7 after his playoff victory over Tiger Woods at the Chevron World Challenge on Sunday.

Kaymer also won his first major, the PGA, and beat out McDowell to finish first on the money list in the "Race to Dubai."

Both players won four events this season.