Landeskog, Nugent-Hopkins and Henrique are Calder finalists

Colorado Avalanche winger Gabriel Landeskog, Edmonton Oilers center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and New Jersey Devils center Adam Henrique are finalists for rookie of the year, the National Hockey League (NHL) said on Friday.

The winner of the Calder Trophy for top rookie will be announced June 20 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Nugent-Hopkins, taken first overall in 2011, became the first 18-year-old in league history to record five assists in one game last November in a match against Chicago and was tied with Landeskog in points despite missing 20 games due to injury.

Henrique, 22, a third-round pick by the Devils, made the most of his opportunity when top center Travis Zajac went down with an injury and went on to lead all rookie players in assists (35) and shorthanded goals (4) during the regular season.

(Reporting by Frank Pingue in Toronto; Editing by Simon Evans)