Kyle Busch beats brother Kurt for Texas pole

Saturday night's 500-mile Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway will feature the Busch brothers on the front starting row.

Kyle Busch earned his 12th career Sprint Cup pole after setting a new track qualifying record during Friday's qualifying session at Texas. Busch, who was the 42nd driver in the 45-car qualifying field, turned a lap at 196.299 mph. The previous record at this fast 1.5-mile racetrack was 196.235 mph, set by Brian Vickers in November 2006.

"We didn't unload the best, but (crew chief) Dave (Rogers) and the guys (No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing team) really used the whole tool box and worked hard to get this car prepared for qualifying and the race," said Kyle Busch, who was the only driver who surpassed Vickers record here. "I'm looking forward to tomorrow night."

Busch has won five Nationwide Series races and two Camping World Truck Series events at Texas but has yet to win in 15 previous Sprint Cup races here.

Kurt Busch, the 37th driver in the order, held the provisional pole with a lap at 195.688 mph until his younger brother topped it.

"When we unloaded, we were fast," said Kurt Busch, who is in his first full season as driver of the No. 78 Chevrolet for Furniture Row Racing. "That car kept its speed. I've delivered right now. And now we can start moving into the 500 miles. We'll make sure we're on the right pit sequence and make good calls throughout the race."

This is the second time the Busch brothers have qualified 1-2 for a Sprint Cup race. They did it in February 2009 at their hometown track of Las Vegas Motor Speedway, with Kyle starting first and Kurt second. Kyle went on to win that race.

Richard Petty Motorsports drivers Aric Almirola and Marcos Ambrose qualified third and fourth, respectively, while Martin Truex Jr., who won the pole at Texas one year ago, took the fifth spot.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. placed sixth, followed by his Hendrick Motorsports teammates Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon. Johnson is the current points leader and winner of last Sunday's race at Martinsville Speedway. He also won the most recent Sprint Cup event at Texas last November.

Carl Edwards, who has the most wins at this track with three, and Juan Pablo Montoya completed the top-10.

Danica Patrick qualified on owner points and will start 42nd after posting a lap at 188.094 mph.

Scott Speed and Scott Riggs failed to qualify for Saturday's NRA 500, which is scheduled to start just after 7:30 p.m. ET.