Gold Glove finalists announced

New York, NY ( - The entire infield of the Tampa Bay Rays could earn Gold Glove awards, as the finalists for the 2013 honors were announced Friday.

Winners of the prestigious defensive awards will be announced Tuesday.

Tampa Bay's infield of first baseman James Loney, second baseman Ben Zobrist, shortstop Yunel Escobar and third baseman Evan Longoria are among the three finalists at each of their respective positions.

Joining Loney as finalists at first base in the American League are Kansas City's Eric Hosmer and Baltimore's Chris Davis, while second base finalists with Zobrist are two-time winner Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees and Boston's Dustin Pedroia.

Escobar will contend with Kansas City's Alcides Escobar and last year's winner J.J. Hardy of Baltimore at shortstop, while third base could have the closest voting. Longoria, winner in 2009-10, has stiff competition with four-time winner Adrian Beltre of Texas and AL fielding percentage leader Manny Machado of Baltimore.

Orioles catcher Matt Wieters, last year's winner, will vie with three-time winner Joe Mauer of Minnesota and Kansas City's Salvador Perez, while a pair of Blue Jays -- R.A. Dickey and four-time winner Mark Buehrle -- join Detroit's Doug Fister as finalists among pitchers.

The outfield contenders are Kansas City's Alex Gordon, Oakland's Yoenis Cespedes and Detroit's Andy Dirks in left; Baltimore's Adam Jones, Boston's Jacoby Ellsbury and Kansas City's Lorenzo Cain in center; and Oakland's Josh Reddick, Baltimore's Nick Markakis and Boston's Shane Victorino in right. Gordon, Jones and Reddick were last year's winners, while Victorino was a three-time winner from 2008-10 with Philadelphia.

In the National League, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina is in position for his sixth Gold Glove. He'll be challenged by 2007 winner Russell Martin of Pittsburgh and A.J. Ellis of the Dodgers.

Dodgers right-hander Zack Greinke is a finalist among pitchers, along with St. Louis' Adam Wainwright and Arizona's Patrick Corbin.

Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt will compete with Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs and two-time winner Adrian Gonzalez of Los Angeles, while the second base finalists are last year's winner Darwin Barney of the Cubs, Mark Ellis of the Dodgers and Cincinnati's Brandon Phillips, a three-time winner.

Colorado's Troy Tulowitzki will try for his third Gold Glove at shortstop and is joined by Washington's Ian Desmond and Atlanta's Andrelton Simmons, while third base contenders are David Wright of the Mets, Juan Uribe of the Dodgers and Colorado's Nolan Arenado.

The outfield finalists are two-time winner Carlos Gonzalez of Colorado, Eric Young Jr. of the Mets and Pittsburgh's Starling Marte in left; Milwaukee's Carlos Gomez, Washington's Denard Span and Andrew McCutchen of Pittsburgh in center; and Cincinnati's Jay Bruce, Arizona's Gerardo Parra and Atlanta's Jason Heyward in right. Gonzalez, McCutchen and Heyward won last year.