FSU QB Winston wins Walter Camp Award

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

New Haven, CT (SportsNetwork.com) - Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston has been named the 2013 winner of the Walter Camp Award, honoring the college football player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information directors.

Winston is the first freshman to earn the honor, and only the second Seminoles player to win, joining Charlie Ward (1993). Both FSU honorees were two-sport stars, as Ward also played point guard while Winston is a pitcher and outfielder for the baseball team.

The 6-foot-4, fleet-of-foot signal caller has turned in a memorable first campaign in Tallahassee, helping the 'Noles (13-0) win the ACC championship and gain a berth in the BCS title game against Auburn thanks to 3,820 yards passing and 38 touchdowns, adding four more scores on the ground.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama QB A.J. McCarron and Boston College running back Andre Williams were the other finalists.