Dale Jarrett among newcomers added to NASCAR HofF nominees list

Five new members were added to the roster of 25 nominees for the 2014 NASCAR Hall of Fame on Wednesday, including 1999 Sprint Cup champion and three-time Daytona 500 winner Dale Jarrett.

Maurice Petty, Larry Phillips, Bruton Smith and Rex White joined Jarrett as newcomers on the nominees list. The candidates were selected by a 21-person nominating committee, which consisted of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major venues and historic short tracks.

Jarrett is the son of two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Ned Jarrett, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2011. In addition to his Daytona 500 victories and series title in '99, Jarrett won the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway twice. His 32 career wins rank him 21st on the series' all-time race winners list. He currently serves as a commentator for ESPN and ABC's coverage of NASCAR.

Petty was the chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises. He becomes the fourth member of the Petty family to be nominated for membership in the NASCAR HofF, joining older brother, Richard, father, Lee, and cousin, Dale Inman. Richard Petty, a seven-time Cup champion and winner of 200 races, was inducted into the first HofF class in 2010.

Phillips won five NASCAR Weekly Series national championships. He also scored 220 victories in 289 NASCAR-sanctioned starts -- for a winning percentage of 76 percent -- during an 11-year career. Phillips claimed 13 track titles in three states as well.

Smith is the chairman and chief executive officer of Speedway Motorsports Inc., which owns eight NASCAR-sanctioned racetracks, including Charlotte Motor Speedway. SMI tracks host 12 Sprint Cup Series races each season.

White won 28 times in his nine-year career in NASCAR's premier series, including six victories during his 1960 championship season. He also finished among the top-five in nearly one-half of his 233 races and outside the top-10 only 30 percent of the time.

The rest of the nominees are: Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, H. Clay Earles, Tim Flock, Ray Fox, Anne Bledsoe France, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Bobby Isaac, Fred Lorenzen, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Les Richter, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Wendell Scott, Ralph Seagraves, Curtis Turner and Joe Weatherly.

The 2014 induction class for the NASCAR HofF will be selected on May 22. The five inductees will be determined by a 54-member voting panel, which includes the entire nominating committee as well as media members, manufacturer representatives, retired competitors (drivers, owners and crew chiefs) and industry leaders. The voting panel also includes a nationwide fan vote on NASCAR.com.