College Football Hall of Fame class has 38 FCS candidates

Thirty-eight former players from Football Championship Subdivision schools are part of the 2012 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Included are former Walter Payton Award winners Archie Amerson of Northern Arizona (1996) and Michael Payton of Marshall (1992).

The announcement of the Divisional class of inductees is on May 22. Candidates from Divisions II and III and the NAIA join the FCS candidates as part of the Divisional ballot.

This year's College Football Hall of Fame enshrinement festival will be held July 20-21 in South Bend, Ind.

The Football Bowl Subdivision class will be announced May 15. Former Princeton kicker Charlie Gogolak and Yale running back Dick Jauron are candidates for the FBS class, not the FCS class.

2012 College Football Hall of Fame FCS Candidates

Player, School, Position, Years Played

Archie Amerson, Northern Arizona, RB, 1995-96

Rennie Benn, Lehigh, WR, 1982-85

Carl Boyd, Northern Iowa, RB, 1985-87

Joe Campbell, Middle Tennessee State, RB, 1988-91

Bruce Collie, Texas-Arlington, OT, 1980-84

Case deBruijn, Idaho State, P, 1978-81

John Dorsey, Connecticut, LB, 1980-83

Tom Erhardt, Rhode Island, QB, 1984-85

Curtis Eller, Villanova, LB, 1989-92

Richard Erenberg, Colgate, RB, 1980-83

Don Griffin, Middle Tennessee State, S, 1982-85

Don Hass, Montana State, RB, 1965-67

Conway Hayman, Delaware, OG, 1967-70

John Hill, Lehigh, C, 1969-71

John Huard, Maine, LB, 1964-66

Rene Ingoglia, Massachusetts, RB, 1992-95

Garry Kuhlman, Delaware, OT, 1979-81

Steve McAdoo, Middle Tennessee State, OL, 1989-92

Bill McGovern, Holy Cross, DB, 1981-84

Robert Morris, Georgetown, DE, 1971-74

John Ogles, Austin Peay State, FB, 1963-66

Chris Parker, Marshall, RB, 1992-95

Michael Payton, Marshall, QB, 1989-92

Martin Peterson, Penn, OT, 1984-86

Charlie Pierce, Central Florida, P/PK, 1993-96

Michael Renna, Delaware, DE, 1987-89

Kirk Roach, Western Carolina, PK, 1984-87

Terry Schmidt, Ball State, DB, 1971-73

Larry Schreiber, Tennessee Tech, RB, 1966-69

Steve Schubert, Massachusetts, WR, 1969-72

Joe Skladany, Lafayette, LB, 1978-81

Leonard Smith, McNeese State, CB, 1979-82

Tom Stenglein, Colgate, WR, 1983-85

Freddie Thomas, Troy State, DB, 1984-87

Markus Thomas, Eastern Kentucky, TB, 1989-92

Billy Thompson, Maryland-Eastern Shore, DB, 1965-68

Lee White, Weber State, Fullback, 1965-67

John Zanieski, Yale, MG, 1982-84