Clemson's Allen wins John Mackey Award

Clemson junior Dwayne Allen was named the winner of the John Mackey Award, given annually to the nation's best tight end.

Allen totaled 48 receptions for 577 yards and eight touchdowns this season in helping the Tigers win the ACC title.

"I want to thank Head Coach Dabo Swinney, my position coach Danny Pearman, offensive coordinator Chad Morris and all of my teammates. They have all had a great impact on our success this year and they are the reason I am here tonight," said Allen.

Georgia's Orson Charles and Notre Dame's Tyler Eifert were the other nominees.