Cards announce NLDS roster

St. Louis, MO ( - St. Louis Cardinals manager Mike Matheny has decided to go with 12 pitchers and 13 position players for his National League Division Series roster.

The Cardinals open their postseason against the Pittsburgh Pirates on Thursday.

The pitchers include Adam Wainwright, Lance Lynn, Shelby Miller, Michael Wacha, John Axford, Randy Choate, Joe Kelly, Seth Maness, Carlos Martinez, Trevor Rosenthal, Kevin Siegrist and Edward Mujica.

The position players are catchers Tony Cruz and Yadier Molina; infielders Matt Adams, Matt Carpenter, Daniel Descalso, David Freese, Pete Kozma and Kolten Wong and outfielders Carlos Beltran, Matt Holliday, Adron Chambers, Jon Jay and Shane Robinson.