Buddy Hield, Ron Baker headline list of Jerry West Award candidates

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

On Tuesday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 candidates for the 2016 Jerry West Award, the annual honor given to the top shooting guard in college basketball.

The award, introduced last year, was given to Ohio State guard D'Angelo Russell in 2015.

Here is the full list of candidates:

Allonzo Trier, Arizona

Kellen Dunham, Butler

Jordan Mathews, Cal

Grayson Allen, Duke

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State

Marvell Harris, Fresno State

James Blackmon, Indiana

A.J. English, Iona

Antonio Blakeney, LSU

Rasheed Sulaimon, Maryland

Sheldon McClellan, Miami

Caris LeVert, Michigan

Malik Newman, Mississippi State

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Danuel House, Texas A&M

Melvin Johnson, VCU

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Ron Baker, Wichita State

Five finalists will be named in March. A winner will be selected on April 8.