Boston College grabs overall top seed, Frozen Four field announced

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

The NCAA men's ice hockey committee team championship field on Sunday with Boston College grabbing the top overall seed.

Boston College (29-10-1) will begin its trek to the Frozen Four against Air Force (21-10-7) in nearby Worcester. Defending national champion Minnesota- Duluth (24-9-6), the No. 2 seed in the Northeast Region, starts with a matchup against Maine (23-13-3).

Michigan (24-12-4), the No. 2 overall seed, will take on Cornell (18-8-7) in Green Bay. Ferris State (23-11-5) got the second seed in the Midwest Region and will play Denver (25-13-4).

Union (24-7-7) heads to the East Region in Bridgeport and is the third overall seed. They will do battle with Michigan State (19-15-4). The other matchup in Bridgeport pits Miami (OH) (24-14-2) against UMass-Lowell (23-12-1).

North Dakota (25-12-3) is the No. 1 seed in the West Region, where they will face Western Michigan (21-13-6) in Saint Paul. Boston University (23-14-1) will take on Minnesota (26-13-1).

First-round games in the East and Midwest regionals will take place on March 23 with the championship contests slated for March 24. The Northeast and West regionals will hold first-round games on March 24 and each region's two winners will square off on March 25.

The Frozen Four will take place on April 5 in Tampa, Florida. The championship game is slated for April 7 at 7 p.m. (et).

Denver defeated North Dakota, 4-1, in the 2005 national championship game. Colorado College and Minnesota also skated in the Frozen Four in Columbus, Ohio.

Minnesota-Duluth needed overtime to beat Michigan in last year's championship game.