Bayne, Biffle among qualifiers to make Sprint All-Star race

Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle and Kyle Larson raced their way into the Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, while Chase Elliott and Danica Patrick were voted in by fans.

Those five drivers complete the 20-driver field for the annual All-Star race, which begins Saturday night.

Bayne won the first 20-lap segment of the Sprint Showdown, edging out Elliott. Biffle won the second segment while Larson held off Elliott to win the final 10-lap segment.

Elliott and Patrick were the top two finishers in the Sprint fan vote.

The Sprint Showdown qualifying was pushed back after heavy rains washed out all track events on Friday night. There is more rain in the forecast for Saturday night, which could potentially delay the start of the All-Star Race.