Australian Masters won't be played this year, officials say

Tournament organizers say the Australian Masters won't be played this year, calling into question the future of the tournament first held in 1979.

David Rollo, a vice-president of tournament organizers IMG, said in a statement Wednesday that "the company is in the process of reimaging (the tournament). The Australian Masters will not be played in 2016, IMG will unveil its new plans for the event in the coming months."

The tournament is part of the so-called Triple Crown of Australian golf that also included the Australian Open and Australian PGA.

Greg Norman has won the Australian Masters six times, Adam Scott twice and Tiger Woods, Bernhard Langer and Ian Baker-Finch once each. Peter Senior won at Huntingdale last November for his third Masters title.