Selena Gomez, Enrique Iglesias garner American Music Award nominations

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Selena Gomez, Enrique Iglesias and reggaeton stars Nicky Jam and J Balvin have all received nominations for this year’s American Music Awards.

Gomez, who is currently on a break from the spotlight, was nominated for favorite female pop/rock artist alongside heavy hitters Rihanna and Adele.

The “Revival” singer also received a nod as artist of year alongside Beyoncé, Justin Bieber, Drake, Ariana Grande, Twenty One Pilots, Carrie Underwood, The Weeknd, as well as Rihanna and Adele. The 10 nominees will be cut in half by Nov. 14 based on fan votes.

Iglesias, who raked in five Latin American Music Awards last week, is nominated for favorite Latin artist alongside Nicky Jam and J Balvin. Last year the Spanish singer took home the prize, beating out Ricky Martin and Romeo Santos.

The ladies of Fifth Harmony also added a nomination to their name for collaboration of the year for their song, “Work from Home,” featuring Ty Dolla $ign. They are up against Rihanna. The Chainsmokers, Drake, and Meghan Trainor.

However, it was Drake who earned a record-breaking 13 nominations on Monday thanks to his latest album, “Views,” which broke Michael Jackson’s mark of 11 nominations in a year in 1984 when the King of Pop released “Thriller."

Rihanna received seven nominations, and Adele and Justin Bieber had five each. Beyoncé and The Chainsmokers each received four nominations. Bryson Tiller, Twenty One Pilots, Underwood, Fetty Wap and The Weeknd earned three nominations each.

Nominees for the title of new artist of the year are Alessia Cara, The Chainsmokers, DNCE, Shawn Mendes and Zayn. There is no overall song of the year category this year; instead honors will be handed out for best song in the categories of pop/rock, country, rap/hip-hop and soul/R&B.

Nominations are based on a metric that includes sales, airplay and social media activity which are tracked by Billboard magazine and its partners. Winners are determined by fan votes on the show's website or through Facebook and Twitter.

Last year, One Direction won artist of the year, Taylor Swift's "Blank Space" was crowned song of the year and Sam Hunt was named best new artist.

The awards show take place Nov. 20 from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles and will air live on ABC.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter & Instagram