Zimbabwe opt to bowl in second India ODI

Zimbabwe's hopes of causing an upset against the world's best one-day side were given a boost when captain Brendan Taylor won a crucial toss and stuck India in to bat in the second one-day international.

With early-morning starts giving fast bowlers plenty of assistance early on, Taylor had highlighted the importance of the toss in his pre-match assessment.

With India captain Virat Kohli calling incorrectly, Zimbabwe's decision to replace legspinner Tinotenda Mutombodzi with a fourth seamer in the shape of left-arm quick Brian Vitori was vindicated.

Meanwhile India named the same team that won the first one-day international by six wickets on Wednesday.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Prosper Utseya, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Tendai Chatara.

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Shami Ahmed, Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat