Vietnam waives tourist visas for 5 more European countries to boost tourism

Vietnam will waive the need for tourist visas for five more European countries in a bid to boost its ailing tourism industry.

Under a decision by Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung that was posted on the government's website late Wednesday, visitors from the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain will not need a visa to visit Vietnam starting in July if they stay up to 15 days.

The decision was welcome by tour operators. Last year, nearly 8 million foreigners visited Vietnam.

Currently, Vietnam gives reciprocal visa exemptions to nine countries in ASEAN, or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, and unilaterally waives visas for visitors from four Nordic countries, Russia, Belarus, Japan and South Korea..