Russia bans food imports from several non-EU nations who have joined EU sanctions

Russia's prime minister says he has signed an order banning imports of agricultural products from several non-EU European nations that have joined the European Union's sanctions against Russia.

Dmitry Medvedev said Thursday the ban would apply to products from Albania, Montenegro, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

The U.S. and the EU have imposed sanctions in response to Moscow's annexation of Crimea and support for pro-Russian insurgents in eastern Ukraine. Moscow has retaliated by banning many Western agricultural products. In June, the Kremlin prolonged the ban following the EU's decision to extend its sanctions through January.

Medvedev said Russia also would apply the ban to Ukraine starting next year if Russia and the EU fail to negotiate a compromise on taking into account Moscow's interests in a Ukraine-EU free trade agreement.