Poverty scholar among 9 winners of Israeli foundation prize

Leading poverty scholar Anthony Atkinson is among the winners of this year's Dan David Prize for scientific, technological and cultural accomplishments.

The Dan David Foundation awards three $1 million prizes annually in three categories: past, present and future.

The prize is named after the late philanthropist Dan David and administered by Tel Aviv University. On Thursday it announced 2016's winners.

Atkinson is being honored for developing public policy in Britain and Europe on poverty. Franc?ois Bourguignon, former World Bank chief economist, and Nobel laureate James Heckman are also being honored for work impacting poverty studies.

Other recipients this year are historians Inga Clendinnen, Catherine Hall, and Arlette Farge, and scientists Paul Alivisatos, Chad Mirkin and John Pendry.

Previous recipients include former U.S. Vice President Al Gore and cellist Yo-Yo Ma.