Pakistan batsman Manzoor returns for Zimbabwe tour

Pakistan opener Khurram Manzoor was recalled to the Test squad announced Tuesday for the tour of Zimbabwe later this month, but there was no room in the squad for giant paceman Mohammad Irfan.

The 27-year-old Manzoor was surprisingly dropped after scoring a brilliant 77 in the last of his seven Tests, against Australia in 2010. He failed to break into the national team despite scoring heavily in domestic matches.

Manzoor replaces left-hander Nasir Jamshed, who managed just 51 runs in Pakistan's 3-0 whitewash against world number one Test team South Africa in the away series earlier this year.

Pakistan will open the tour with two Twenty20 internationals in Harare on August 23 and 24 before playing three one-day internationals on August 27, 29 and 31 -- all in Harare.

The first Test starts in Harare on September 3 while the second Test opens in Bulawayo on September 10.

Irfan, the tallest man ever to play international cricket at seven feet one inch, will be part of the one-day and Twenty20 teams but will not feature in Tests.

The aim is to keep him fresh for the series against South Africa in the United Arab Emirates later in the year.

All-rounder Anwar Ali is the only change in the one-day squad which beat the West Indies 3-1 last month, replacing Wahab Riaz.

Wicket-keeper Adnan Akmal, younger brother of Kamran, also returned to the Test team after losing his place to Sarfraz Ahmed on the South Africa tour.

Kamran once again failed to make any of the squads, while Shoaib Malik was also ignored.

Former captain Moin Khan was appointed manager of the team after the resignation of Naveed Chema.

Test squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Khurram Manzoor, Imran Farhat, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali, Faisal Iqbal, Adnan Akmal , Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Ehsan Adil, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman

One-day squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Harris Sohail, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Abdul Rehman

Squad (Twenty20): Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Umer Amin, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Zulfiqar Babar, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Harris Sohail

Team manager: Moin Khan