Japan names islets in disputed area, more than 150 others around nation to step up claim

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Japan says it will give names to five uninhabited islands as part of a group in the East China Sea, a move likely to spark anger from other claimants China and Taiwan.

They are among the 158 uninhabited islands to be named Friday as Japan steps up protection and claims over border islands and waters around them. The government's maritime policy department says it will publish a list of all the names on its website later Friday.

The five islands are part of the Senkaku, or Diaoyu, island group in the East China Sea, also claimed by China and Taiwan, and a regional flashpoint.

The names will be used for new maps. The islets are within Japan's established exclusive economic zone and will not change maritime boundaries.